Masinga Dam

Masinga Dam, officially opened in December 1981, is our major source of water. It is a embankment dam in Tana River. At full reservoir level, the reservoir of the dam has a surface area of 120KM2 and it's total capacity is 1.56 million M3.  It is fueled by Electricity.


  1. Matinyani
  • AIC Matinyani- driven by fuel.
  • Old Matinyani- driven by electricity.
  • Kilungu- driven by fuel.
  • Mutune- driven by electricity.
  • Matinyani- driven by electricity.

2. Ikanga

  • Old Ikanga- driven by electricity.
  • Ilusya (Yuvila)- driven by fuel.
  • Ilusya (Mutomo)- driven by fuel.
  • Nzalani- driven by fuel.

3. Katwala

  • Katwala South West- driven by solar
  • Ngiluni borehole- driven by solar
  • Katwala borehole- drive by solar

4. Voo South West- Driven by electricity.

5. Mutitu

6. Kwa Vonza

  • Mamole- driven by power.
  • Mwitasyano- driven by fuel.

7. Kavisuni South West- Driven by solar.

8. Athi River (Kangu Kangu)- Driven by solar

9. Kitui Township

  • Ithookwe- driven by electricity.
  • Museve- driven by fuel.
  • Mbooni- driven by electricity. 
  • Kyanika- driven by solar.
  • Kilonzo- drive by solar.
  • Unyaa- driven by solar.
  • Kangwei- driven by solar.
  • Sokomoko- driven by solar.

10. Kanyangi- Driven by electricity, solar and fuel


A water reservoir with a capacity of 3000m3.


A water reservoir with a capacity of 3000M3.

Kwa Ngindu

A water reservoir with a capacity of 1500M3.

Water Kiosks

These booths for sale of tap water are costructed in every Kitwasco station ands boreholes